Written by: Darcy Cook, Safety Trainers
Keeping up with the changes in OSHA regulations, state and federal law can be a full-time job. To help keep you in compliance and up to date on changes in regulations, we have summarized the highlights of 2018.
OSHA Penalty Increase
Effective January 2, civil penalties for violations of workplace safety and health standards are 2 percent higher, with a new maximum fine of nearly $130,000. OSHA increased its penalties to adjust for inflation as required by the Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act of 2015, which initially raised civil penalties by 78 percent, after over 2 decades without a penalty increase, now, a mandated annual adjustments by January 15 of each year.
Did you know that OSHA reports homicide as #2 on the fatality list in the workplace? As a result of the rise of active shooter situations in the workplace, the NFPA has produced NFPA 3000 a Standard for an Active Shooter/Hostile Event Response (ASHER) Program. OSHA can site a company for workplace violence under the General Duty Clause.
Starting July 1, 2018, all employees engaged in hot work operations must complete a training and obtain a Hot Work Safety Certificate. This is a mandatory state-wide requirement. There are only two approved providers in the state of Massachusetts to get your employees trained.
Public Employees – DPW, Schools, Police, Fire, College/Universities and more…
On March 9, 2018 Governor Baker signed a bill that amends M.G.L. chapter 149 §6 ½. The law was updated to clarify employee safety requirements in public sector workplaces and is enforced by the Department of Labor Standards (DLS).
Attention Businesses: Do you have to hit a 9 or an 8 to get an outside line before dialing 911? If you said yes, you need to know about Kari’s Law. The law states that businesses, offices and the like, with multi-line telephone systems must have direct dial to 911, without any prefix, was signed into law by President Trump on Feb. 16, 2018.
The law says that anyone installing, managing or operating multi-line telephone systems may not install manage or operate such a system unless it is configured such that the user can directly initiate a 911 call. This applies to anyone installing, manufacturing, first selling or leasing two years after the date of enactment of the act.
Silica Standard General Industry (GI) and Construction
For Your Information (FYI) Section
- You can now text to 911.
- The Massachusetts State 911 Department is pleased to announce that Text to 911 is now available throughout the Commonwealth. All Massachusetts 911 call centers now have ability to receive a text message through their 911 system. Text to 911 allows those in need of emergency services to use their cellular device to contact 911 when they are unable to place a voice call.
- Hiring a Safety Consultant will reduce your OSHA fines by 50% in State of Massachusetts
- There is a safety training grant for OSHA compliance training. Need a qualified provider?